Texas Motor Transport Association Logo

TMTA is a trade organization dedicated to enhancing the effectiveness of its members by advocating sound public policies, providing excellence in education, training and information and promoting a safe, dependable and cost-effective motor transportation system to better serve the people of Texas.

TMTA is made up of carriers, owner operators, and businesses that supply goods and services to the transportation industry. They believe that by staying involved in the political process they can help control the future of trucking in their state. Another goal is to better the bottom line of their members. They are always looking for ways to make truckers more profitable.

Owner/operators are eligible for member group discount programs like insurance, tires, and TMTA's custom products such as log books, forms, back belts, accident kits and more.

Safety Compliance Courses

The TMTA offer the US DOT/Transportation Safety Institute's (TSI) Motor Carrier Safety Compliance courses and upon completion every person receives a Certificate of Completion from the U.S. Department of Transportation's Transportation Safety Institute.

TMTA Foundation

This funds education and research projects. It provides scholarships to students in senior college, junior college, and vocational schools.

Leadership Awards

Stoney "Russell" Stubbs, Senior Vice President of FFE Transportation Services Inc., was awarded the Texas Motor Transportation Association's 2009 Leadership Award. These are given annually. Russell Stubbs has served on the executive committee, as a chairman of the TMTA Foundation, and as past chairman of TMTA. He has been active in the TCA (Truckload Carriers Association) and the ATA (American Trucking Association).

Other Awards

The TMTA issues a Driver of the Year award, a Distinguished Safety Award, and Truck Safety Awards.

Texas Truck Driving and Technician Championship Winners

Mario Gonzales Sr., of H.E.B. Grocery Company, was the Overall Grand Champion.
Jesus Puente Jr., also of H.E.B. Grocery Company, was the winner in the Five-Axle Tank Division.
Ronald Stelzer, of the United Parcel Service, won the Step Van Division contest.
David Martinez, again of the H.E.B. Grocery Company, was first in the Twin-Trailer Division.
Ray Jackson, of the H.E.B. Grocery Company, was first in the Fix-Axle Division.

Our hats off to the H.E.B. Grocery Company --- the winners just kept coming.
Eleno Lara took the Three-Axle Division, and also hails from H.E.B Grocery Company.
Michael Lopez, of FedEx Freight, placed first in the Four Axle Division.
Ruben Cortez Jr., of the H.E.B. Grocery Company, was first in the Five-Axle Flatbed Division.
Oscar Ramos, of Con-way Freight, clinched the Five-Axle Sleeper Birth Division.

For the Technician of the Year competition we saw:

Mark Deen of Cummins Southern Plains was named Overall Grand Champion.
Rudy Laguna, of H.E.B. Grocery Company, came in second place.
Steve Roen, of Rush Peterbilt, came in third place.
Allen Ricketss, of H.E.B. Grocery Company, placed fourth.
Armando Martinez, of H.E.B. Grocery Company, placed fifth.

Membership Packages

The Texas Motor Transportation Association offers membership packages for carriers, owner/operators, and allied trades.

The staff at the TMT are available to handle membership issues. They are:

• President / CEO: John Esparza
• Director of Affiliate Operations: Dorothy Brooks
• Chief Financial Officer: Jesse Dominguez
• Vice President – Member Relations: Lance Shillingsburg
• Director of Policy and Governmental Affairs: Les Findeisen
• Director of Communications and Public Relations: Glenna Bruun

The Texas Motor Transportation Association also established and supports a CO-OP Road Patrol, the TMTA Safety Management Council, and the Fleet Maintenance Council.

I'd like to hear more Tire Industry Association Logo