North Carolina Trucking Association Logo

The North Carolina Trucking Association is committed to safety on the state's highways. With over 500 companies, NCTA represents the unified trucking industry of North Carolina. As an industry, trucking is a vital part of the state's economy. Millions of dollars worth of cargo is carried every day, and service every community in the state. Many communities in North Carolina are served exclusively by trucks, and couldn't exist without the trucking industry.

Truck driver and motor carrier highway safety is of paramount importance to the members of the North Carolina Trucking Association. Their motto is "Safety is Our Driving Concern." NCTA employs a number of resources and has many different programs to promote highway safety in North Carolina, for the benefit of truck driver safety, motor carriers, bus operators and common carriers. The NCTA Safety Department works directly with all agencies that are associated with motor highway travel, truck and tire safety and security.

Eb Peters, retired NCTA President, has been awarded the 2009 Earl E. Congdon, Jr. Award for Excellence in Highway Freight Transportation. The award was presented at the Sixth Annual NC Transportation Hall of Fame Induction and Award Ceremony. Previous winners of this award include Al Bodford, Tony Pope, and the NC Truck Driver Training School at Johnston Community College.

During the same ceremony, former McLean Trucking Company CEO Paul P. Davis was posthumously inducted into the North Carolina Transportation Hall of Fame. Previous inductees include Grier Beam, Earl Congdon, Malcolm McLean, R.Y. Sharpe, Orville Wright, and Wilbur Wright, among others.

The North Carolina Transportation's website offers links to the NCTA Scholarship, the North Carolina Road Team, NCTA Foundation, the North Carolina Trucking Association's Maintenance Council, and links to many websites helpful to truck drivers, bus operators, common carriers, and the transportation industry in general.

The North Carolina Trucking Association has won the Nation's Top Safety Award, the American Trucking Associations Excellence in Safety Award, several times. This is a testament to the dedication and hard work of the Safety Management Council, the support of NCTA member companies, and of the strong working relationships that NCTA has with various federal and state agencies. Congratulations!

The NCTA Safety Management Council holds an annual Safety Conference at and awards a Safety Director of the Year. Congratulations to Mr. Gary W. Bunn of Crown LSP Group, Inc. Rocky Mount, NC for being the recipient of the Safety Director of the Year award.

The North Carolina Trucking Association celebrates National Truck Driver Appreciation Week by honoring professional truck drivers who are examples of the best that the motor carrier and trucking industry has to offer. The recipient of the Driver of the Year Award for 2008 is John (J.C.) Miller, of Roadway Express, Kernersville, NC. Congratulations, John!

Drivers of the Month include:
William "Chester" Lawrence, Old Dominion Freight Line, Greensboro, N.C
Lewis Evans Epes, Transport Systems, Inc., Greensboro, N.C.
Billy Lee Smithey, Tyson Foods, Inc., Roaring River, N.C.
Robert Lee, Mountaire Farms, Lumber Bridge, N.C.
Alphonso Hampton, Jr., Cargo Transporters, Claremont, N.C.
Randal C. Shoup, Barnes Transportation Services, Inc., Wilson, N.C.
Robert L. Dewitt, Roadway Winston-Salem, N.C.
Robert A. Quinn, Barnes Transportation Services, Inc., Wilson, N.C.
Ralph Lee Hamilton, Old Dominion Freight Line, Charlotte, N.C.
Ronald Merson, Old Dominion Freight Line, Greensboro, N.C.
Thomas L. Ruffin, Jr., LPC, Inc., Clinton, N.C.
Ronnie Cooke, Conway Freight, Charlotte, N.C.

To contact the North Carolina Trucking Association, they can be reached at:

North Carolina Trucking Association, Inc.
219 West Martin Street
Raleigh, NC 27601


PO Box 2977
Raleigh, NC 27602
Telephone: (919) 834-0387
Fax: (919) 832-0390
Charles Diehl: [email protected]
Rick Cates: [email protected]

NCTA Officers

Chairman: Bob Underwood, Cable Transport Inc.
1st Vice Chairman: Dennis Dellinger, Cargo Transporters
2nd Vice Chairman: Albert Ganey, Ezzell Trucking
3rd Vice Chairman: David Yarbrough, Yarbrough Transfer Co.
ATA State V.P.: Anthony Capps, Carolina Tank Lines
ATA Alternate S.V.P.: David Condon, Old Dominion Freight Line
President: Charlie Dieh,l NCTA

I'd like to hear more Tire Industry Association Logo