Florida Association for Pupil Transportation Logo

The Florida Association for Pupil Transportation provides vision, leadership, and services to the student transportation community to improve safety, efficiency and service to Florida's public school children.

The Florida Association for Pupil Transportation was founded in 1946 to provide an organization for student transport providers and other industry members. The FAPT's goal is to ensure the safety of student transportation, and improve the efficiency of student transportation services. The Florida Association for Pupil Transportation hosts an annual conference and mid year meeting. The FAPT holds an annual safety skills competition in the spring of each year. The FAPT also hosts a number of other safety competitions, meetings, and conferences. The FAPT communicates with its members through its website, magazine, and targeted emails.


The Florida Association for Pupil Transportation participates in the Southeastern States Pupil Transportation Conference (SESPTC) Buster Bynum Scholarship, which awards two students whose parents work in school transportation in each participating state a $1000 scholarship each.


To join the FAPT, please download the membership form from their website.

Contact the Florida Association for Pupil Transportation:


Phone: 863.235.0089
Fax: 863.385.5533

P.O. Box 8170
Sebring, Florida

Executive Committee:

President: Mike Connors , Brevard District Schools
President-Elect: Greg Akin, Volusia District Schools
Past President: Joe Purvis, St. Johns District Schools
Region I (South) Director: Richard Duckworth, Charlotte District Schools
Region II (West Central) Director: Fred Murphy, Polk District Schools
Region III (Central) Director: Kenneth Lewis, Seminole District Schools
Region IV (N. Central, N. East) Director: Carol Alford, Columbia District Schools
Region V (Panhandle) Director: John Hamilton, Jackson District Schools
DOE Representative: Charlie Hood, Florida Department of Education
Treasurer: Louise Piper, Okeechobee District Schools
Executive Director: Shirley Higgins

I'd like to hear more Tire Industry Association Logo